Williamsburg-James City County Schools

The School division is comprised of 16 schools. Unique in Virginia, the joint division serves the City of Williamsburg and the County of James City. The School Board consists of 7 members; the 2 representing the City are appointed and the 5 representing the County are elected.

Christopher Newport University

Christopher Newport University is a dynamic, thriving institution where you’ll find the best of all worlds: the dedicated professors and small classes that are the hallmark of a private liberal arts education, the low costs of a public university and magnificent facilities that few institutions can rival.

College of William and Mary

The College of William and Mary is one of the nation's premier State-assisted liberal arts university. The College provides high-quality undergraduate, graduate and professional education that prepares students to make significant contributions to the Commonwealth of Virginia and the nation. Enrollment: 7,571 of whom approximately 5,560 are undergraduates.

Virginia Peninsula Community College (formerly Thomas Nelson Community College)

Virginia Peninsula Community College is a 2-year institution of higher education established as a part of a statewide system of community colleges. It primarily serves the residents of the Cities of Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, and Williamsburg, and the Counties of James City and York. The College operates under policies established by the State Board for Community Colleges and with the guidance of the Virginia Peninsula Community College Board. The College is financed primarily by State funds, supplemented by contributions from the participating localities and the Federal government.